Introduction

The Amazon Alexa skill called My Blackboard allows you to say:

Alexa, open My Blackboard.

get my grades

get my announcements

give me a tip

 

Multiple students can link their Blackboard accounts to a single Amazon Alexa account, which allows parents or grandparents to track school progress.

Students

To listen to your course grades and announcements with Amazon Alexa you need to follow these steps:

  1. Enable the Amazon Skill called: My Blackboard for Blackboard Learn
  2. Login to your school’s Blackboard system and find the link Amazon Connection

Instructors

Create a link in your course called Amazon Connection.

  1. Go to Content -> Web Link
  2. User url: https://apps.dataii.com/bb/alexa/
  3. Select the Tool Provider checkbox

If the system reports that the link is not yet approved, please have your system administrator follow the steps below.

Blackboard Learn Administrators

  1. Download and install the My Blackboard – Alexa building block (alexa_B2.war)
  2. Navigate to SysAdmin->Building Blocks->LTI Tool Providers
  3. Approve the LTI domain: apps.dataii.com
  4. Tool Provider Key: ec472db6-894f
  5. Tool Provider Secret: b7cfaf137955-4f86
  6. Create LTI Web Link with a tool placement or follow the above instructor instructions to allow students click on a web link in a course

 

Update**

The recently updated My Blackboard skill allows schools to adopt Alexa without REST API. 

